About Camp Med

Camp Med 2022-2023 School Year

Camp Med Events are free, one-day, hands-on health career learning opportunities for middle school students. These events are typically held in local middle schools during the course of students' regularly scheduled day. Students will have the opportunity to experience a wide variety of health careers through hands-on activities and discussions. Students will learn about 5-10 different health careers through a ‘round-robin’ approach. Attendees are divided into small groups of 5-10 students. Each group will spend approximately 10 minutes at various health career stations where they will learn about that career’s job duties, educational requirements, rewards and challenges. Students will then get to participate in a fun, hands-on activity related to that career such as reading x-rays, filling prescriptions, stabilizing a trauma patient, or rehabilitating a stroke patient. This format allows participants the chance to learn about several health careers in a short period of time.

Aberdeen Camp Med: Fall 2022  contact: m.titus@nesdahec.org

Beresford Camp Med: TBD contact: Shellie.Pratt@k12.sd.us

Chamberlain Camp Med: TBD contact: Jessica.Neilan@sanfordhealth.org

Dell Rapids Camp Med: TBD TBD contact: Ronald.Tibke@avera.org

Huron Camp Med: TBD contact m.titus@nesdahec.org 

Parkston Camp Med: TBD contact: Ember.Dale@avera.org

Pierre Camp Med: TBD Stanley County TBD, contact: breeoatman@sd-discovery.org 

Rapid City: 11-08-2022 at SDSM&T contact: Wanda.Roe@wdt.edu

Sioux Falls Camp Med: Healthcare Camp –CTE June 6th & 7th, 2022 – STC June 8th & 9th, 2022 AM & PM Sessions contact: Anna.Fischer@southeasttech.edu 2023 dates TBD 

Wagner Camp Med: 01-19-2023; snow reschedule date: 01-26-2023: contact: Connie.Kaufman@avera.org

Yankton Camp Med: TBD contact: corryn.gabbert@yrahec.org

For more information on Camp Meds, contact the South Dakota Department of Health at 605.773.3361 or email Natalie.Jung@state.sd.us

There are tons of healthcare career opportunities and Camp Med is a great way to see what’s out there.